Breaker trips after Microwave shuts off

Reply

  #1  
Old 05-21-07, 02:34 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Breaker trips after Microwave shuts off

Have Emerson model MW8107WA 1000watt microwave. When it stops running after pre-set run time, it more often than not will trip the circuit breaker. Does this on a dedicated circuit labeled "Microwave" w/ 10amp breaker, as well as on another 10amp circuit when it is the lone device running.
Is the microwave itself faulty?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 05-21-07, 02:38 PM
Member
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 995
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
A 10A breaker? What country are you in; what voltage?
 
  #3  
Old 05-21-07, 02:50 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
In U.S. Your reply made me run out and double check. Says 10 on the breaker.
 
  #4  
Old 05-21-07, 03:00 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 18,497
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Says 10 where on the breaker? Is it on the plastic handle of the breaker, in raised letters? Or somewhere else? Many people misinterpret the 10 that is referring to the maximum fault current that the breaker can withstand before it explodes as the overcurrent protection. 10-amp breakers are almost non-existent in the U.S.
 
  #5  
Old 05-21-07, 03:13 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks very much for your reply. When I can get a real up-close look at it I will do so (currently have freshly painted vehicle in the way...don't want to risk touching it unless it's an emergency). I did call Emerson...they said 20amp recommended.
 
  #6  
Old 05-22-07, 11:41 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Upon further review, it shows it is a 20A breaker by the small raised numbers on the handle of the breaker. Thanks for educating me.
It always allows me to reset it...but having just done it again (resetting it)...I noticed that as soon as I opened the door to place something in the microwave...it tripped again...without even starting it.
 
  #7  
Old 05-23-07, 12:35 AM
Member
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 995
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
How old is the microwave? Where did you buy it, and is it under warranty?
 
  #8  
Old 05-23-07, 04:55 AM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Sounds like you need a new microwave. Most microwaves these days are not repaired, they are replaced. And you don;t want to tale chances with radiation...
 
  #9  
Old 05-23-07, 05:49 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
Breakers are (usually) cheaper then microwaves. If the OP doesn't have access to an amprobe I'd suggest changing the breaker first or try the microwave on a different circuit.
 
  #10  
Old 05-23-07, 07:00 AM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
He has tried two breakers. How many more would you like him to try?
 
  #11  
Old 05-23-07, 05:17 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
>> He has tried two breakers. How many more would you like him to try?<<

OOps I missed that part. Thanks for the correction.
 
  #12  
Old 05-23-07, 08:08 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks again for replies. Mwave was manufactured in 2003, so it is not that old. I guess I'll move it to another circuit in the house that has a 20A breaker on it that has never been tripped (to my knowledge)...and make sure everything else on the circuit is unplugged. Sound like a reasonable "test"? Reason I think I'll try this is because a wireman where I work told me today that circuit breakers are only guaranteed by manufacturers to perform their duty once. Is this true...by the way?
 
  #13  
Old 05-24-07, 08:40 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 4,717
Received 29 Votes on 28 Posts
...that circuit breakers are only guaranteed by manufacturers to perform their duty once. ...

I think you or he must have been mistaken. Circuit breakers were a HUGE improvement over fuses because they don't need to be replaced.

Maybe you/he were talking about surge suppressors. While they will handle every-day surges for years, they are designed to fail while protecting your equipment from a catastrophic spike/surge.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: