Kitchen ceiling light and 3-way switch

Old 05-24-07, 08:29 AM
Kitchen ceiling light and 3-way switch

Hi,

I am replacing a kitchen ceiling light. The on/off of the ceiling fixture is controlled by 2 switches at each end of kitchen. I removed old fixture but did not pay attention to how wires were connected.

Wires that are in the electric box are:

2 red
2 white
2 black
2 ground

I assumed that the 2 white in the box should connect with the white on the new fixture, 2 black with black and 2 ground with ground. Capped them off. Left 2 red as they were in the box (capped together).

Light works but switches don't work properly. I can turn light on, but when I turn light off the circuit breaker trips.

So what I have is total of 3 white wrapped together, 3 black wrapped together, and 2 ground wrapped together. Red left alone.

Should I have NOT connected each color wire together?

I am a novice (obviously), but want to learn. Thanks for your help.

Sponsored Links
Old 05-24-07, 08:41 AM
Thew book you bought on home wiring should be able to help you out. You did buy a book, didn't you? Nobody should be attempting electrical modifications without understanding the basics of electricity. Electricity can and does kill people.

We can't help until you tell us the wiring at each switch. Tell us the wiring in complete detail. Tell us all the cables, and all the wires in each cable, and how all the wires are connected to anything. In telling us how the wires are connected to the switches, make sure to distinguish between the various colored screws.

Your other alternative is to use a tester at the ceiling and figure it out.

If the two red wires were capped together before you started, then you are part way there. However, the test procedure must be precise to avoid wiring the light backwards.