110v Splice Inside EMT?

Reply

  #1  
Old 05-27-07, 06:53 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 56
Question 110v Splice Inside EMT?

I want to install some 110V, 3 tier, pathway lighting along a walkway. The fixtures have a 1/2" threaded base and wire leads that are only about 10" long. The bases need to be mounted on a 1/2" threaded conduit about 18" long. How can I safely extend these leads to make final connection in 4" round exterior jb. I have disassembled the fixture and the leads are crimped to the bottom of the screw socket with no room to make any connection in the base area. Thanks for any help or suggestions!
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 05-27-07, 07:26 AM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 5,599
All connection must be made in boxes. Install a pull box on the riser.
 
  #3  
Old 05-27-07, 08:18 AM
Speedy Petey's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 2,455
Yup, you need a box right under the fixture.
 
  #4  
Old 05-27-07, 08:38 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 56
Thanks for the info ... not what I wanted hear. But y'a gotta do what y'a gotta do! thanks again
 
  #5  
Old 05-27-07, 09:42 AM
nap's Avatar
nap
nap is offline
New Member
Join Date: May 2006
Location: north
Posts: 4,163
you can use a "condulet".

to be more precise, a "c" condulet. It has an entrance on each end with a enlarged area with a cover in between.

here is a link to a pic of one:
http://www.mclendons.com/item.asp?sku=10215210&from=cart

they are available in aluminum, iron, and pvc and in any size you need.
 
  #6  
Old 05-27-07, 10:03 AM
Speedy Petey's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 2,455
A "C" condulet would certainly work, as long as there is sufficient space for the conductors. And by this I mean code sufficient, not just room enough to stuff it all in.
 
  #7  
Old 05-27-07, 11:01 AM
nap's Avatar
nap
nap is offline
New Member
Join Date: May 2006
Location: north
Posts: 4,163
yes, I do agree.
 
  #8  
Old 05-27-07, 02:23 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 56
I picked up a "C" type box today (1/2") and it volume of 4.35 cu in. Is this large enough for the 4 wire and two connections? Thanks
 
  #9  
Old 05-27-07, 03:24 PM
Speedy Petey's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 2,455
What are the circuit conductors? How many?
Does the circuit go in and out of each light? If so that would be six circuit conductors (minimum) and the fixture wires.

In any case a 1/2" "C" at 4.35cu/in will not allow for any splices.
 
  #10  
Old 05-27-07, 03:34 PM
nap's Avatar
nap
nap is offline
New Member
Join Date: May 2006
Location: north
Posts: 4,163
no. to make joints, figure each "end" of a wire as a one count but the grounds all together only count as one.

#14 wire is figures at 2. cubic inches per wire
#12 is 2.25 cubic inches per wire

with that in mind (and presuming there is a ground)

#14 would take at least 10 c.i and #12 would need 11.25 c.i.

You can use a larger condulet and bush the ends if you want BUT if you upsize the condulet for this purpose, you will need to support it. Not sure what size condulet would be needed to fit the wires.

aww heck with it. just get a single gang bell box and be done with it.
 
  #11  
Old 05-27-07, 03:50 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 56
The leads from the lamp are 18ga stranded, which I would splice in the "C" box with 18 ga stranded going into the 4" box at the base of the conduit. Thanks
 
  #12  
Old 05-27-07, 04:05 PM
nap's Avatar
nap
nap is offline
New Member
Join Date: May 2006
Location: north
Posts: 4,163
18 is figured at 1.5 c.i. per end. That would mean you would still need 7.5 c.i.

just use a single gang bell box. If you use a 2 inch deep (I think they are about 16 c.i.) you could just bring the conduit directly to that and eliminate the 4" square box a bit further away.

that is presuming #12 feed wires.
 
  #13  
Old 05-27-07, 04:32 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 56
I just took a couple of photos to show what I've got. The 4" round jb is needed as this is where light is mounted to the edging of the walkway.

http://www.csprep.com/images/light1.jpg (assembled)
http://www.csprep.com/images/light2.jpg (shows lead length, unassembled)

Thanks for your help
 
  #14  
Old 05-27-07, 05:27 PM
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Wet side of Washington state.
Posts: 18,388
That style of lamp is usually mounted just a few inches above the ground. A Bell box

http://www.deanbennett.com/bell-box.gif

is usually mounted directly below the fixture and the splices made in the box. Conduits enter and leave the box on the bottom and are often embedded into a concrete "anchor" to hold everything straight.

The Bell boxes are available in a variety of styles and sizes.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'