Generator feed line question

Reply

  #1  
Old 05-30-07, 11:42 AM
JoggingGuy's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 19
Question Generator feed line question

I bought a 15KW generator for powering my entire house and already had a manual transfer switch installed at the breaker box. The generator is going to be located in the back yard about 80 feet from it.

Aluminum 2/2/2/4 service entrance cable is almost 1/3rd the price of 6 ga direct burial 4 wire copper. Can this be used to make the run between the unit and the breaker box buried in the ground?

Thanks.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 05-30-07, 11:56 AM
Member
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 995
That's what I'd do.
 
  #3  
Old 05-30-07, 08:26 PM
JoggingGuy's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 19
Thanks Mac.

I went and looked at the cable again. It's 4 individual conductors labelled AlumaFlex USE-2, RHH, RHW-2. It doesn't mention anything about direct burial, so does that mean it needs to be run in conduit?
 
  #4  
Old 05-30-07, 08:44 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 18,497
USE-2 cable is rated for direct burial.
 
  #5  
Old 05-30-07, 08:47 PM
JoggingGuy's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 19
Excellent. Thanks John
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'