Controlling Ceiling Lights from Two Locations

Old 05-31-07, 11:51 AM
Controlling Ceiling Lights from Two Locations

I'm a novice when it comes to electrical wiring, so please excuse my ignorance. I'm wiring a new family room. I've installed 12 recessed ceiling fixtures in a new family room addition. I want to be able to control the six lights on one side of the room separately from the six on the other side, and do both from two different locations. So far, I've wired the six lights on one side together, and the six on the other side together, both with 14/2 Romex. I have not connected one set to the other, nor have I run any cable to where the switches will be.

There are two open entrances to the family room from the living room. I want to be able to control each set of six lights from both entrances. I know I can run power to a 3-way switch at entrance 1, then to the lights, and then terminate the curcuit there. Then I can run 14/3 from the switch at entrance 1 to another 3-way switch at entrance 2, and I'd be able to turn the six lights on one side off and on from either. I'd repeat the same steps for the other set of six lights.

But that would take up two circuits, and I'd like to put all 12 lights on one circuit. How do I do that? The Black & Decker Complete Guide to Home Wiring book I have had a misprint I didn't notice until I had wired the fixtures. It shows the cable running between the light fixtures as 14/2, but a closer look shows that it's actually 14/3 mislabeled as 14/2. I really don't want to re-run new cable. Is it possible to do what I want to do with the existing 14/2 cable between the light fixtures?

Thanks for your help!

John

Sponsored Links
Old 05-31-07, 12:01 PM
All you need is 14-2 between the lights. Are you perhaps mistaking 14-2 with ground for 14-3?

Anyway, run power into the first switch box on 14-2. Run 14-2 to one of the lights from set 1. Run 14-2 to one of the lights for set 2. Run two sets of 14-3 to the second switch box.