hubbell twist lock wet location receptacle

Reply

  #1  
Old 06-10-07, 05:24 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 25
Question hubbell twist lock wet location receptacle

We are planning a fish pond in an outdoor flowerbed. The spot of choice has a covered "twist lock" receptacle; can we use the existing setup somehow or should me put the pond elsewhere? I think there will be a small filter and a light involved...
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 06-10-07, 05:51 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 18,497
If the existing receptacle is on a circuit of the correct voltage and overcurrent protection, and if it was installed according to code, and the circuit has sufficient excess capacity for the new loads you are putting on it, I see no reason you can't use it.

If you read the above sentence carefully, you'll discover that there are several things you should check out before proceeding. If you provide the information suggested, we can help with that.
 
  #3  
Old 06-10-07, 06:05 PM
Speedy Petey's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 2,455
The term "a covered 'twist lock' receptacle" tells us very little. All we know from that is that it is a receptacle.
What is the voltage, the amperage and the wire size????

As John said, you need to know specifically what you need; specifically what your have; and if it is safe.
 
  #4  
Old 06-11-07, 07:38 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Near Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 10,335
Outdoor twist lock receptacles are pretty rare. Is there any chance this was designed to run a pool pump motor?
 
  #5  
Old 06-12-07, 12:25 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 25
Red face more info re: "twist lock" receptacle

Sorry for the incomplete post: It is marked 20A 125V; has one receptacle with nothing plugged into it. It is possible it was originally for a hot tub, I have heard (from the electric company) that the previous owners had one. I will investigate further to see which circuit it is on, the electrical box in the basement is pretty well labelled so it should be easy. In the meantime does anyone know if we would be talking about an adaptor or something more involved? The light and filter will be 110 fixtures I'm sure, don't yet know what type of plug...
 
  #6  
Old 06-12-07, 12:36 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Near Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 10,335
With a 20A 125V circuit, you only need to replace the twistlock receptacle with a 20A GFCI receptacle. Connect the incoming power feed to the LINE terminals on the GFCI and install an appropriate weatherproof cover.

If you already have a GFCI breaker on the circuit (which should have been used with a spa), the GFCI receptacle is not required. A standard 20A receptacle with appropriate cover will suffice.
 
  #7  
Old 06-12-07, 12:36 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
You will not use an adapter. You will replace the receptacle with a normal 15 or 20 amp duplex receptacle into which you will plug your items.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'