Moving a stove

Reply

  #1  
Old 06-13-07, 02:50 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 1
Moving a stove

I am moving a stove. 40 AMP. Currently connected with #8 wire. I need to move it about 10 feet. How do I "splice" the existing wire to the new 10 foot section so I can move the receptacle to the new location? How do i know what the maximum length of the wire from stove to panel is? Carl
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 06-13-07, 03:07 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Near Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 10,337
Are the wires copper or aluminum? Do you have three wires or four?

The splice must be made in a permanently accessible junction box.
 
  #3  
Old 06-13-07, 03:32 PM
Member
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 995
If four wires, you can splice or move it. If three, you'll need a new run of four wires.

Also, if this current cable runs through a crawl space, and the new location is closer to the panel, you MIGHT be able to just shorten the cable and run to the new location, instead of splicing the old one.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'