240 Breaker- two single poles

Reply

  #1  
Old 06-26-07, 03:26 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3
240 Breaker- two single poles

I am putting in a new oven. The old oven had a 40 Amp breaker, but the new oven required a 30 Amp breaker. The new breaker I bought is a two single pole 120/240 breaker. I noticed that some of the breakers in the panel have a pin through both breaker switches to tie them together. Do I need to put a pin through these new switches or are they good to go?
Thanks
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 06-26-07, 03:55 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
Yes. a 240 volt appliance needs a breaker that shuts off both legs of the power when either side trips.
 
  #3  
Old 06-26-07, 04:12 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3
Thanks

Thanks for your help, I will tie them together.
Originally Posted by racraft View Post
Yes. a 240 volt appliance needs a breaker that shuts off both legs of the power when either side trips.
 
  #4  
Old 06-26-07, 05:52 PM
Member
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 995
You bought a new double-pole breaker with handles not already tied together? Even the ones where I've untied the handles are still internally common-trip, though for a 240V circuit (or common yoke device) you ALSO want the handles tied.

How old is your panel, and what brand are these breakers?
 
  #5  
Old 06-26-07, 07:43 PM
Member
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: NA
Posts: 1,065
Mac

I wonder if he bought a tandem single pole?

Roger
 
  #6  
Old 06-26-07, 07:54 PM
Member
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 995
That's exactly what I'm wondering, too.
 
  #7  
Old 06-26-07, 09:06 PM
Speedy Petey's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 2,455
I agree.

Why they even sell twin 30's in the home centers is beyond me. I'll guarantee 100% of them sold is incorrectly installed.

The only time I've even used SP30's is for hand dryers and travel trailers.
 
  #8  
Old 06-26-07, 09:30 PM
Member
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: NA
Posts: 1,065
Yeah I was going to mention that a tandem 30/30 ain't a ordinary duck. I'm not to sure I've ever dealt with one. This begs the question did he buy a tandem other than a 30 amp? I looked at my square d catalog and they dont make them..... only up to 20 amp. If the one he bought isn't handle tied common trip from the factory I'd have to believe he lhas mistakenly purchased a single pole tandem. I'll link to an image and maybe tornado can tell us what he has.....

http://www.acehardware.com/sm-q0-tandem-circuit-breaker--pi-1297999.html

Roger
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes