Going tandem?

Reply

  #1  
Old 06-26-07, 08:00 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: canada
Posts: 57
Going tandem?

First and foremost, I'm in Canada...Ontario to be exact....

I've got a 100A service panel with only 16 spots (that includes a dual pole for A/C and a linked pair of 15A breakers that are for the kitchen) as well as two tandem breakers in this panel.

I remodelled my basement and have since added 8 more circuits (after changing some wiring around while remodelling I'm down to 4 circuits that have not been wired to the panel)....it's a lot but I anticipated upgrading my service panel to accomodate 40 spaces (or was it 32...can't remember!)

Anyways, I'm just trying to clarify a few things on these tandem breakers:
1.) Are they allowed?
and if so then
2.) Is there a limit to how many you can put in?

I've chatted with a few electricians that have passed through where I work and they don't recall anything being wrong with it and don't see why I can't add a few more tandems but when I had my house inspection done before I purchased the house the inspector made a point to say that they shouldn't be in there (can't remember specifically if he said not recommended, not code or whatever).

If I can use'em then great....saves me money on a new panel....if not, then I know I still need a new panel. Obviously, not spending extra cash would be nice!
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 06-26-07, 08:30 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
Whether or not you can use tandem breakers depends on the make and model of the panel, and whether they are allowed for it.
 
  #3  
Old 06-26-07, 09:09 PM
Speedy Petey's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 2,455
From what I know, in Canada there is no 42 circuit limit in a panel like we have.

As Racraft said, as long as the panel accepts them you should be fine.
 
  #4  
Old 06-27-07, 04:19 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: canada
Posts: 57
The panel accepts 'em...already has two in it...Square D panel...just didn't know if there was a limit as to how many you could put in the panel.

I've got 2 in there now and my total will probably end up to be 5.

And like I said, the home inspector really seemed to frown upon it when I bought the house.
 
  #5  
Old 06-27-07, 05:28 AM
Speedy Petey's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 2,455
H-I's frown on a LOT of stuff that is perfectly acceptable.
 
  #6  
Old 06-27-07, 06:45 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: canada
Posts: 57
Works for me if it's perfectly acceptable!

Saves me a bunch of cash....the box...the electrician...permit/inspection plus any costs of bringing anything up to code....etc...all back in my pocket!

I figured you could use 'em...I mean they sell 'em at Home Depot/Rona here in Ontario so I don't see why you couldn't use 'em.

Better safe to ask then be sorry!
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes