Turning 3 way light switch into 1 motion sensor switch

Reply

  #1  
Old 07-04-07, 08:09 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 5
Turning 3 way light switch into 1 motion sensor switch

Hello, first time poster at DIY,

My house currently has two 3-way switch controlling a light at the downstairs entrance. I like to turn one of the 3-way switch located at the lower floor to a motion sensor wall switch.

I opened up the existing 3-way switch box and it has 3 terminals with 3 wires (black, red, white), how do I hook it up to my motion sensor switch which has 2 black wires and 1 green (ground wire)? My goal is to make the top floor switch either an independent switch, or "3-way" with the motion wall switch.

Any help is appreciated. Thanks.

Peter
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 07-04-07, 08:55 PM
Member
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Tustin
Posts: 90
if this is lighting for stairs, you cannot legally make it into one switch, you must have one at the top and one at the bottom.
 
  #3  
Old 07-05-07, 04:13 AM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
As hbsparky said, you may not be allowed to modify the three way capabilities of the switch. Describe in detail the setup (layout of the house and switches) and we can provide more insight.

As for your description of the wiring, that does not help. All three way switches have three wires attached, plus perhaps a ground. To do anything we would need to know ALL the wiring at this switch, at the other switch and at the light itself, and in complete detail.
 
  #4  
Old 07-05-07, 06:41 AM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 5,599
I belive you could replace that switch with a three way motion switch. Leviton makes them but you will also need to swap the other switch. they are called occupancy sensors.

http://www.leviton.com/OA_HTML/ibeCCtpSctDspRte.jsp?section=17219&minisite=10026
 
  #5  
Old 07-17-07, 07:54 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 5
Originally Posted by racraft View Post
As hbsparky said, you may not be allowed to modify the three way capabilities of the switch. Describe in detail the setup (layout of the house and switches) and we can provide more insight.

As for your description of the wiring, that does not help. All three way switches have three wires attached, plus perhaps a ground. To do anything we would need to know ALL the wiring at this switch, at the other switch and at the light itself, and in complete detail.

****************************
Here it is:
http://lighting.heath-zenith.com/products.cgi?type=4

Model number I have is SL-6105 (single pole)

Manual is: http://12.153.20.74/manuals/595-4881-09J.pdf

I like to replace the lower floor light switch to a motion sensor so
it will trigger the light to "on" but turn off by either the manual
override on the motion sensor switch or the upper level switch (no
shown).

Existing wall switch (lower floor):
http://members.shaw.ca/ppwlee/lowerswitch_back.JPG
http://members.shaw.ca/ppwlee/lowerswitch_side.JPG
http://members.shaw.ca/ppwlee/lowerswitch_wall_outlet.JPG

Motion sensor switch:
http://members.shaw.ca/ppwlee/motionsensor.JPG


Thanks for any suggestion.


Peter
 
  #6  
Old 07-18-07, 02:54 AM
Member
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 995
You can replace the switch with an occupancy sensor, but it, too, must be labeled as a 3-way device.

Just like with dimmers, you can replace a 3-way switch with a dimmer, but it must be a 3-way dimmer, and not all are.
 
  #7  
Old 07-18-07, 04:42 AM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
Why are you making this difficult? Buy a three way device and connect it up according to the directions.

If you attempt to use a non-three way device, you may create an unsafe situation and/or a code violation. Further, you will have to change the wiring to eliminate the second switch from the picture and I will not tell you how to do this.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'