Wire Size Question.

Reply

  #1  
Old 07-05-07, 10:43 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 9
Smile Wire Size Question.

Need to run 240v line from 125A Square D box 80' in pvc conduit buried 18" to 100-125A box in storage shed. Am told 4 thhn wires size 2, 2, 4, & 6 in 1' conduit will do the trick. WHAT SAY YOU?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 07-05-07, 11:55 PM
Member
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 995
Depends on the size of the breaker you will use to feed the shed's subpanel. Are you really going to provide it with the full ampacity of the feeder panel?

Also, don't forget you will need a ground rod at the shed's panel.
 
  #3  
Old 07-06-07, 03:44 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 9
Smile main panel to shed sub-panel

Mac & Amy: Yes, intended to use 100A double pole breaker from feeder panel. The sub-panel will actually be a full time panel. The only other thing the main panel serves is two 20A gfi outlets for occassional, intermittant use.

Is the thhn ok? Is 1" conduit large enough? In that the shed panel is downstream, why necessity for ground rod?

Many Thanks,

HUgh
 
  #4  
Old 07-06-07, 05:12 AM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
The wire needs to be THWN. Most THHN is actually dual rated THHN/THWN, so you are probably okay.

You need the ground because this is a separate panel at a different building.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes