Joining multiple ground in one box

Reply

  #1  
Old 07-07-07, 10:28 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: downeast maine
Posts: 35
Joining multiple ground in one box

Let's say I have two lights, each on a separate switch. The two switches are in the same box. Each light is on its own circuit. Do I have to connect all 4 ground wires together (i.e. the two from the lines and the two from the loads?). Could I connect them in pairs (i.e. each line and load paired together)? I would assume that all being connected together would be better because it would make it less likely for a failure of the ground, sort of a redundancy thing, but is it a requirement?

Thanks
Ken
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 07-07-07, 10:42 AM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
Yes, all four ground wires must be connected together. The junction box, if metal must also be connected to these grounds, as must each switch.
 
  #3  
Old 07-07-07, 02:22 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 18,497
But DO NOT connect all four white wires together.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'