ventilation fan

Reply

  #1  
Old 07-09-07, 04:22 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 19
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Question ventilation fan

i'm trying to hook up the wiring to a new ventilation fan with a light and nightlight combo. I have the 2-wire cable coming to the fan unit from the power source and i wanted to have a 3-wire cable going from the unit to a 3 way switch( on controlling each function). the instructions say there should be a yellow wire in the fan unit but i'm left with a white wire, which is not copper. am i to assume this is in place of theyellow they keep refering to?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 07-09-07, 04:57 AM
Member
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Wilmington
Posts: 4,219
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Normally, there will be a black for the light; red for the fan; blu for night light, white is always neutral, bare-green- green/yel, is always ground. The colors may be different depending on manufacturer, but white is always neutral. For 3 devices, there will be 5 wires including ground. So you actually need 4 wires for a switch loop, one hot to the switch, three back to the fan unit. And don't forget to make ground conductor continuous to the switch.
 
  #3  
Old 07-09-07, 05:12 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,956
Received 33 Votes on 28 Posts
The junction box on the fan is not going to be big enough to make all the connections that you propose.

You could bring the power source into the switch first and then go to the other 3way then to the unit. But you will not have 3way functionality for all the functions.
 
  #4  
Old 07-09-07, 02:53 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 19
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
ok. so i don't have a blue wire for the night light or a yellow(like the instructions say) and i'm assuming it's this extra white wire.there is a green, a red, a black and 2 white wires coming out of the fan. I'm think the junction box is large enough to fit it all in. i'm trying to make the least possible changes to the already existing wiring. thats why i have the power coming to the fan. Plus i trying to make this 3 way switch to work. any suggestions? thanx.
 
  #5  
Old 07-09-07, 02:58 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 18,497
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
A white wire is never used to substitute for a yellow or blue. Do not, under any circumstances, connect it as if it was yellow.

Are you sure one of those white wires isn't really pale yellow? Are you looking at this in good light?
 
  #6  
Old 07-09-07, 03:06 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 19
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
yep it's white. i'm a little confused about what to do!
 
  #7  
Old 07-09-07, 03:12 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 4,713
Received 29 Votes on 28 Posts
I'd suggest calling the company directly. There's probably an 800 number in the manual or on their website.
 
  #8  
Old 07-09-07, 03:34 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 19
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Smile

ok -upon closer inspection of the unit (taking it apart a little) i found that it is the night light wire one black,one white from the night light and one white ,one black from the light.thanx guys for your quick responses.my husband won't have anything to do with electical .
 
  #9  
Old 07-09-07, 04:01 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 19
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
another question? one of you (just bill i think) said that i would acually need 4 wires. does that mean i need a 12-4 coming back to my 3-rocker switch instead of the 12-3?
 
  #10  
Old 07-09-07, 07:25 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
You will need 12-4 (or a section of 12-3 and a section of 12-2) if you want to control all three portions of this unit separately.
 
  #11  
Old 07-11-07, 03:27 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 19
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Angry

ok i have a 12-3 and a 12-2 hooked up but there isn't any instructions on how to make all the connections. do you know where i can get a good diagram? i have 3 wiring books here but none of them are helping......plus i think i just burned out my switch!

forgot to say that i went and returned the other fan and bought a new one just like it and all of the wiresare accounted for.
 

Last edited by didimark; 07-11-07 at 03:30 AM. Reason: forgot to add
  #12  
Old 07-11-07, 05:15 AM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Your books do tell you how to wire this, you just don;t understand what you are reading and/or don;t know how to apply it to your situation.

Use the 12-2 and make a switch loop for the night light.

Use the 12-3 and make a switch loop for the regular light and the fan.
 
  #13  
Old 07-11-07, 07:55 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
White on the 12-3 would be redesignated to some color other then red and black. Lets say blue. Same for white on the 12-2.

Assuming the power comes into the j-box at the fan the two blues and the black power lead are tied together.

The 12-2 black goes to the night light. The 12-3 red and black go to the fan and main light.

At the switch box the 12-2 blue and 12-2 black goes to the night light switch.

At the switch box two pigtails are attached to the 12-3 blue.

One pigtail and 12-3 red to the fan switch.

Other pigtail and 12-3 black to main light switch.

All remaining whites (power source neutral and fixture whites) at the fan box are tied together. All grounds connected together and if J-box metal pigtailed to it.
 
  #14  
Old 07-11-07, 06:00 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 19
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Red face

ok thanx for the info. i did hook this up as you indicated except now everything is on and won't turn off at the switch. does this mean my switch might be burned out like i thought?? now the only way to turn everything off is to turn the power off at the breaker. any sugg.? and yes! i don't really know what i'm doing. my brother the electrician is out of town right now and i was impatient- but i'm learning alot. thanx guys for all your help.
 
  #15  
Old 07-11-07, 06:20 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Either the switch is bad, or you wired it wrong at the ceiling. Are you sure that you wired it right at the ceiling? The incoming power only connects to the two white wires going to the switch?
 
  #16  
Old 07-11-07, 06:48 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 19
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Red face

this is what i have:
incoming power to the fan unit=the black is connected to the 2 whites (1 from the 12-3-wire and 1 from the 12-2-wire) and the white is connected to the 2 whites from the fan unit(i'm guessing 1 for the light and 1 for the fan).then the ground to the other grounds.

next the 12-2 from the switch to the fan. the white(blue) connected to the black from the main power. and then the black to the yellow (nightlight?)

next the 12-3 from the switch to the fan. the white(blue) connected to the black from the main power. and then the black and red connected to the black and red from the fan unit.

now at the switch i have the 1 white (blue)in the 12-2 connected to the black and have a pigtail connecting that to the switch.
also i have the 1 white(blue) pigtailed 1 to the black which is then pigtailed to the switch; and one to the red whitch is pigtailed to the switch .

but the switch i'm using (has three buttons so each funcions on it's own) has a place for the common wire? yes that's a question. anyway- any ideas- does this sound correct?
 
  #17  
Old 07-11-07, 06:53 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
The wiring at the switch does NOT sound correct, and is your problem.

How many connections does it have? I fear that you may need 12-4 going between the switch and the unit after all.
 
  #18  
Old 07-11-07, 07:02 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 19
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
do you mean how many connections the switch is requiring? it has a ground and on one side has a place for a common wire (which currently has nothing connected to it). it then has three on the other side for the switch controls (hot-i'm assuming)- so that each one can be on/off at any time.
 
  #19  
Old 07-11-07, 07:08 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Well obviously it isn't working the way you have it wired. You have the power wires connected directly to the outputs. You aren';t even using the switch.

Take out the piece of 12-2 and the piece of 12-3. Install a piece of 12-4. Then post back for the instructions, if you can't figure it out.

You should have made it clear from the beginning about the switch. I never would have suggested that a piece of 12-2 and piece of 12-3 could be used.

Please buy and read several books on home wiring. You lack a basic understanding of electricity and home wiring, and you could easily get yourself killed.
 
  #20  
Old 07-11-07, 07:16 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 19
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
12-4 has how many -a ground and white,black,red and? i originally had 12-3 and added a yellow along side it which is still in place but nutted off. would this work to make a 12-4?
 
  #21  
Old 07-11-07, 07:20 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
NO. You must have either conduit containing all five wires (four current carrying plus one ground) or you must have a five conductor cable. You are NOT allowed to have a single wire running loose as you described.
 
  #22  
Old 07-11-07, 07:27 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 19
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
ok- thanx for the quick response. i'll remove it right away and then i'll try to find the 12-4. i think it's a special order item.
 
  #23  
Old 07-11-07, 07:35 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Not if you go to the right store. An electrical supply store will have it. Most big box stores have it.
 
  #24  
Old 07-11-07, 09:05 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
Just to clarify my instructions were based on three separate switches. Didn't realize you had a combo switch.
 
  #25  
Old 07-11-07, 11:28 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 19
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
i'm sorry i didn't clarify the combo switch thing. i still appeciate all the help!!
i'll get back to you guys when i'm done. oh and the 12-4 is special order at one of the big box stores- i haven't checked any where else yet.
 
  #26  
Old 07-12-07, 05:16 AM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
It must depend on which big box store you frequent. The one I go to has it on a roll, sold by the foot.
 
  #27  
Old 07-15-07, 06:10 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 19
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Talking

just wanted to get back to you-you were alot of help and i really thank you. i have everthing wired correctly and in good working order. thanx again for all the help.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: