Motion Sensor light wired off existing outlet?

Reply

  #1  
Old 07-09-07, 04:07 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 1
Motion Sensor light wired off existing outlet?

I'm looking to install a new motion sensor light outside my home. The closest power source is an outlet in the garage were the automatic garage door is plugged in. Can I run wire from the existing box to power the motion sensor light? If so, what are the steps?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 07-09-07, 05:06 PM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,968
Welcome to the forums! I would run the cable from the receptacle to a switch, first, then to the motion sensor. That way if you wanted to disable it permanently, you could via the switch. Some motion sensors allow you to have the light stay on by cycling the switch for a second, then reverting to its normal use by turning it off for a few more seconds, so a switch will be necessary.
 
  #3  
Old 07-09-07, 05:14 PM
Member
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 995
Do you have easy attic access above the receptacle? I'm assuming this garage door opener receptacle is in the ceiling?
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes