Using an electrical Inlet

Old 07-10-07, 08:56 PM
Using an electrical Inlet

I am framing out my basement home theater that will have a projector attached to the ceiling. I have a question out running an electrical "inlet" on the ceiling. I want the projector to be protected by my UPS system so I was thinking about using the following

Leviton 15A 125V 2-Pole, 3-Wire Weatherproof Inlet on Flush Mount Wall plate with Aluminum Cover

(http://www.telephonestuff.com/Catalog/Model_4937.htm)

Basically, I was thinking about the following setup

House power --> UPS --> inlet --> outlet --> projector

The inlet will be connected to the outlet with EMT running 3 12 AWG wires.

Any thoughts or suggestions?

Thanks

Sponsored Links
Old 07-10-07, 09:05 PM
That looks acceptable to me, but I am not a code expert.

Old 07-11-07, 02:15 AM
I don't think you should do this. What about getting one of the recessed wall outlets for clocks and just mounting the UPS with the projector?

You shouldn't hard wire an appliance into your electrical system. The ups you are probably considering is considered way more disposable than say a load center or junction box. Unless it is UL listed for that application, I wouldn't do it. You always have to consider what would happen if someone else came along, would they understand what is happening?

As an example, my brother-in-law and I spent many weekends working on his house so he could get an occupancy permit. The inspector found that the previous owner had used lamp cord in going through walls and other conveniences. It quickly became a game of undoing, continuity testing, and correcting.

Old 07-11-07, 07:11 AM
i like it