Before I call a Electrician...

Old 07-13-07, 07:57 AM
Before I call a Electrician...

Hi,
I'm new at this forum and have a question about my house. Started last week when my wife used a vacume cleaner in our living room and after cleaning, three outlet and light fixture stoped working, however one of a outlet is still working. Few days later our basement room is totally out after I've used a treadmill machine. Both room are in a top of each other and wondering what is going on with our outlet and light fixtures. House is around 30 years old and this never happend before. I've checked a circut breaker(these are one with a switch and 20A, 15A on it), turned it off and on but nothing changed. I have no experience/knowledge of electrical problem and if someone can tell me what may have happen, at least I know when electrician shows up.
Thank You.

Sponsored Links
Old 07-13-07, 08:07 AM
You have an open connection. A common cause of these is the use of a high current device, such as a vacuum cleaner. A tread mill is also a high current device.

The most common open connections are because of failed back stab connections. More often than the the problem is an open neutral, rather than an open hot wire. The back stabs are the push in type connections on the back of some receptacles and switches. The wire is held in place by pressure from a spring inside the device. Over time the spring loosens and the connection fails. High current hastens this as the metal expands and contracts as it heats and cools.

The fix is to find a repair the open connection. It would help if you knew whether it was a neutral or a hot wire. Use a plug in type tester, which will tell you which wire it is.

Then your task is to find it. Open every box on the circuit, one at a time. Even open the boxes containing working receptacles, as the connection can fail there too, on the "outgoing" side.