Wire cooktop and hood with same cable?

Reply

  #1  
Old 07-19-07, 03:06 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 112
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Question Wire cooktop and hood with same cable?

My gas cooktop manufacturer requires a dedicated 15 amp circuit, and the exhaust hood requires an individual 15 or 20 amp circuit(2 wire with ground). Can these circuits share the same 14/3 cable? i.e. two separate hots, shared neutral and shared ground. Would I install a separate junction box for each appliance?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 07-19-07, 03:09 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Yes, these can be on a multi-wire circuit. But I would recommend a 20 amp multi-wire circuit, not a 15 amp one. Somebody some day will want to install a microwave hood, which will be better served with a 20 amp circuit.

The hood will likely need to be hard wired. I am not familiar with cook top units, but I believe that they can be either way. Regardless, you end up with two connections, at separate places.
 
  #3  
Old 07-19-07, 05:28 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 112
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thank you.

Thanks, good point about a future microwave.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: