Electric boiler hookup

Reply

  #1  
Old 07-20-07, 11:41 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 2
Electric boiler hookup

I'm looking at getting an electric boiler, and am wondering if I need to upgrade my electrical service to do this. The boiler I need uses 125 amps, and my service is only 200 amps. Is this going to be an issue? Can I just get a 125 amp breaker, and hook it up, or is there more to it? Thanks for any info.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 07-20-07, 11:49 AM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
You probably need a service upgrade to supply anything as large as 125 amps. Are you sure this number is accurate?

The only way to be sure, however, is to do a load calculation.
 
  #3  
Old 07-20-07, 11:53 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Near Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 10,335
> uses 125 amps, and my service is only 200 amps. Is this going to be an issue?

Unless your 200A service is vastly oversized, probably. You will need to do (or have an electrician) do a demand load calculation to determine if your current electrical service has enough remaining capacity to support the boiler.

> Can I just get a 125 amp breaker, and hook it up, or is there more to it?

There's probably more to it. These usually have a few heat stages. It's likely that the boiler requires three 40A circuits or some configuration like that. I would be surprised if it requires a single 125A circuit.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'