Wiring 3 way motion switch

Reply

  #1  
Old 08-05-07, 12:09 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 5
Wiring 3 way motion sensor switch

Hi,

I am trying to replace one of my 3-way light switch with a 3-way motion sensor switch and like some guidelines on the connection.

When I open up the current switch #2 which I like to replace with the motion sensor:
1 common wire
2 traveller wires
1 white wire with wire nut connections in the metal box (not directly connected to the switch)
1 copper bare wire with wire nut connections in the metal box (not directly connected to the switch)

My new motion sensor:
4 wires (black, red, yellow/red, green)

I read the instructions, from my understanding, I need to:
- add a jumper to switch#1 between common and travellerA
- connect neutral to Red
- connect travellerB to yellow/red
- connect travellerA to Black
- connect ground to Green

Question,
- what's the purpose of adding a jumper to switch#1?
- how do I identify the neutral? Is it the white wire in the metal box?
- is the bare copper wire "ground"
- Is my above interpretation of the connection diagram correct?


Thanks for any input!

Peter
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 08-05-07, 12:12 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 5
Wiring 3 way motion switch

Hi,

I am trying to replace one of my 3-way light switch with a 3-way motion sensor switch and like some guidelines on the connection.

When I open up the current switch #2 which I like to replace with the motion sensor:
1 common wire
2 traveller wires
1 white wire with wire nut connections in the metal box (not directly connected to the switch)
1 copper bare wire with wire nut connections in the metal box (not directly connected to the switch)

My new motion sensor:
4 wires (black, red, yellow/red, green)

I read the instructions, from my understanding, I need to:
- add a jumper to switch#1 between common and travellerA
- connect neutral to Red
- connect travellerB to yellow/red
- connect travellerA to Black
- connect ground to Green

Question,
- what's the purpose of adding a jumper to switch#1?
- how do I identify the neutral? Is it the white wire in the metal box?
- is the bare copper wire "ground"
- Is my above interpretation of the connection diagram correct?


Thanks for any input!

Peter
 
  #3  
Old 08-05-07, 05:57 AM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
There is no such thing as a common neutral. You read something wrong or have mis-typed.

You haven't posted the instructions, so we cannot comment on them.

The bare wires are the ground. They get connected to the green switch wire.

The white wires are the neutral. They do not get connected to the switch.

The other wires are the common and two travelers. They get connected per the directions with the switch.
 
  #4  
Old 08-05-07, 06:02 AM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 5,599
You need to post installation instructions for your particular motion switch so we can see the connections. They are often made to be used in pairs. You may not be able to use this switch with a normal three way switch.
 
  #5  
Old 08-05-07, 09:32 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 5
Here is the wiring diagram:

http://www.leviton.com/OA_HTML/ibcGetAttachment.jsp?cItemId=33157&label=IBE&appName=IBE
 
  #6  
Old 08-05-07, 09:53 AM
Member
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Ontario Canada
Posts: 1,767
Judging by the Leviton PR180 diagram, for their 3-way motion switch.

>Question,
>- what's the purpose of adding a jumper to switch#1?

It makes the second switch into a logic switch, with the red wire as the logic control line. The motion switch itself will turn the load on and off.

>- how do I identify the neutral? Is it the white wire in the metal box?

There is no neutral wire on that device (at least the Leviton one), as that would be a white wire. The yellow wire is the "output", which goes to what wire went to the common of the original switch, preferably the load, with continuous power on the black. The red (as mentioned above), is the logic signal from the other switch.

If power is in that box, you can connect yellow to the power, and black to the load/ other switch.

>- is the bare copper wire "ground"

Yes. You connect the green wire from the switch to it.
 
  #7  
Old 08-05-07, 12:03 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
That's fine. The wiring diagram tell you how to wire it. Now post the directions.

Or just follow the directions and you'll be done.
 
  #8  
Old 08-05-07, 12:19 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
One thread per question please.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'