Adding a switch to garage lights

Reply

  #1  
Old 08-05-07, 10:53 AM
T
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 9
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Adding a switch to garage lights

Hi,

I have 3 lights in my garage controlled by a single switch. The wiring goes from the switch box to the first light in the center of the garage. From there, two wires run to two more lights. How would I add a switch so the first switch controls two of the lights and the second switch controls one light. I have access to the attic space above the garage and can get to all the wires. My house is 10 yrs old. I'm guessing this is pretty simple, but some detailed instructions would be much appreciated. Thanks.

Second Light
|
|
|
First Light---------------Switch
|
|
|
Third Light
 

Last edited by twitchylegs; 08-05-07 at 10:56 AM. Reason: Change Diagram
  #2  
Old 08-05-07, 01:04 PM
R
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,970
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Tell us where power enters the picture and we'll go from there.
 
  #3  
Old 08-05-07, 01:14 PM
T
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 9
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Power comes in here

Hi,

Power enters at the switch box.

Second Light
|
|
|
First Light--------------Switch-------power-------CircuitBreaker
|
|
|
Third Light
 
  #4  
Old 08-05-07, 01:15 PM
R
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,970
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Where do you want to add this new switch?
 
  #5  
Old 08-05-07, 01:56 PM
T
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 9
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
In the same switch box, right next to the current switch.
 
  #6  
Old 08-05-07, 03:22 PM
R
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,970
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Replace the cable from the witch to the first light with with three conductor cable (plus ground).

Add the second switch, use the red wire for the second switched hot, make the changes at the first light.
 
  #7  
Old 08-06-07, 08:44 AM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 18,497
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Some of the details depend on which of the three lights you want to be separately switched.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: