Outlets - Sometimes they work, and sometimes they don't

Old 08-06-07, 12:36 PM
Question Outlets - Sometimes they work, and sometimes they don't

A strange situation...

At almost the same time every night (closed to 7:00pm) about half the outlets on one circuit stop working. And then, at almost the same time every night (closed to 10:00pm), the outlets begin to work. This has been on going for about a month. The breaker has never tripped and there is no additional power usage before the power turns off on those outlets.

Any help would be appreciated...

Sponsored Links
Old 08-06-07, 12:49 PM
Do you have two meters, two panels, or do you in anyway have a timer installed?

Did this just start happening,or has it been happening for you forever?

Old 08-06-07, 05:38 PM
Smile

I am a novice and don't know too much(lol), but my first order of inspection would be to pull out one of your receptacles (turn of c/b first) and see if the wires are back-stabbed. These are the source of many problems, so I read and am personally finding out for myself. Did you find a timer of sorts?? I suppose (just speculating) it wouldn't be impossible if the ambient temperature had something to do with it. Back-stab connections get overheated and become loose (very loose). once again it would not be inconceivable (to me anyways) if the ambient temperature change night possible cause the connection at a weak back-stab connection to make and break?? But yes mysterious!!

Old 08-06-07, 05:50 PM
1 meter
1 panel
No timer

It started around the time I installed two light fixtures. Both lights were installed in the two bedrooms which are connected to one Arc Fault breaker. However, it is only one bedroom that has been having the electrical problems, which I assume indicates the breaker is not the problem.

I've disconnected both light fixtures thinking this may be the problem, but unfortunately it changed nothing.