Mounting a box for a smoke detector

Reply

  #1  
Old 08-09-07, 09:33 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: usa
Posts: 34
Mounting a box for a smoke detector

Ok, I'm currently in the process of setting up a hardwired smoke detector, and as can be expected, prepping the box to mount it is proving to be a puzzler.
The house I'm setting it up in is an old 18th century, and after drilling the to prep the box, I've found that there's sheetrock over plaster, adding up to about an inch and a half before hitting lathe. Now the hole is right next to a stud, but it's fairly deep in the wall.

The question is, what's the best way to mount the box without tearing up the wall too much (It's in pretty good shape).
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 08-09-07, 09:47 AM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
Smoke detectors are not heavy. If you cannot get an old work box to attach with it;s integrated mounting hardware, you can probably figure out a way to add additional screws to hold the box into the lathe.

Or you could have used a pancake box and mounted it directly to the lathe.
 
  #3  
Old 08-09-07, 03:14 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,426
You can also carefully break out the plaster and lath behind the sheet rock so that the old work arms will be long enough. Another option is to use a smartbox that will screw into the adjacent joist.

Google smart box and electric.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'