Aluminum wire

Old 08-26-07, 08:43 PM
Aluminum wire

I'm interested in getting opinions about aluminum wire. I used to own a duplex that was built in 1971 and was completely wired with aluminum wiring. We had no problems for the year and a half that we owned it, but I've heard many horror stories about aluminum wiring causing fires etc.
My electrician gave me a bid for a sub panel (100A) and he told me that he plans to use aluminum wiring for the project. I've been told by a few people (including my dad) that aluminum wiring is dangerous and I should not allow it in my home. my garage is attached, and the job would require about 85 feet of it.
Thanks for your feedback

Sponsored Links
Old 08-26-07, 10:16 PM
I'm not an electrician, but I didn't know they still sold aluminum romex. Is this a main feeder cable between buildings or subpanels. I think that stuff is still aluminum. Maybe one of the elec's will fill us in, and we'll learn something.

Old 08-27-07, 04:14 AM
Aluminum wiring was used for 15 and 20 amp circuits in the early 1970s. The practice was discontinued when it became apparent that the wiring was not suitable for use on these circuits.

The problem is that the connections (at receptacles, switches and elsewhere) heat up as current flows. As the connections heat up, the metal expands. As the connections cool down, the metal contracts. Under the right circumstances, these expansions and contractions can lead to weak connections overheating. The overheating can lead to a fire.

Because of this, some insurance companies won't insure a residence with aluminum wiring, while others will require that the aluminum wiring be removed. Regardless, if aluminum wiring for branch circuits is still in place, it requires an annual inspection by a qualified electrician.