GFCI OUTLET protected circuit?

Reply

  #1  
Old 08-30-07, 12:26 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: PA
Posts: 117
GFCI OUTLET protected circuit?

So I can protect an entire circuit by placing a GFCI outlet first in the line, nearest the panel.

I got that, but if I have 12-2 coming into that GFCI can I use 12-3 further along in the circuit so that it can accomodate some switched receptacles or will that cause an imbalance and trip the outlet?

For example, I have 12-2 from the panel to a gfci breaker, then the 12-2 runs to a switch. I splice in 12-3 in the box for the switch and run to an outlet (one switch leg, one live wire, one neutral. I pull the tab from the hot side of the outlet to separate the receptacles, leaving one receptacle switched, the other live.

Will this work?

Thanks.

HB
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 08-30-07, 01:19 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
Of course this will work. The GFCI receptacle only see two lines, the hot and the neutral on the LOAD side of the receptacle.

Regardless of what you do beyond that, as long as you do not introduce any other lines into the equation, you are fine. In other words, as long all the current still flows through those same two lines there is no problem.
 
  #3  
Old 08-30-07, 02:20 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: PA
Posts: 117
Thanks!

That's what I thought, but then i second guessed myself.

I appreciate the help.

HB
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes