100 amp subpanel in detached garage/apt

Old 08-30-07, 08:15 PM
100 amp subpanel in detached garage/apt

This forum is fantastic. I appreciate the time all the experts contribute.

I am building a detached garage/apt and want to confirm my wiring plan. From searching other posts I think I know what I need to do but am looking for confirmation.

My run from my main 200 amp panel to the garage panel is approximately 80'. My garage is new construction and will be grounded with 2 ground rods and to the foundation rebar. There is no metal connection between the garage and the house. I am planning to install a 100 amp subpanel and feeding it with 3-#2 copper cables (2 hots and a neutral) in a 2" diameter pvc conduit.

I sure would appreciate if someone who knows more than me could confirm that my plan is safe and meets code.

Many thanks in advance,
B W Swede

Sponsored Links
Old 08-30-07, 10:57 PM
Smile

I am a novice and do not feel qualified to respond to any de-tached sub-panel questions. I would love to "field" a couple of things for practice though (lol) if I may until the pro's get here. I'm sure you know they are going to ask you why you don't run 4 wires instead of three.(perhaps in the future you will have a need perhaps for a metal connection of some sort) You might ask if this includes things like low voltage wiring etc.!! Anway if you run two hots and a neutral I have read many times here that the neutral and ground wires at your sub are to be married. If you run two hots, a neutral and a ground then they are isolated from one another at the sub. As far as voltage drop I'm pretty certain there is no issue until you get over a 100feet. (I could be wrong) I'm pretty sure they will recommend a main breaker panel. In other words you'll have a 100 A breaker in both the main panel and in the sub. If you have 6 or less breakers in the sub (double pole are considered as one) then I thought I read a main breaker in the sub is not required , but recommended. If there i