Bottom fed subpanel? and wire type?

Old 08-31-07, 06:44 AM
Bottom fed subpanel? and wire type?

I've been wiring houses for a few years now under various electricians. This time, my brother asked me to wire his new shop. It's pretty much a six car garage with a second floor. Yea, I know, I wish I had it too. Everything will be done under a homeowners permit. We drew out all the plans and there are two things I have never been presented with before. We're putting a 100 amp panel out there and running the wire underground from his 200 amp main service. My first question is, do I need a bottom fed panel (main breaker). I have never seen these, but I hear the main breaker is literally on the bottom. Sucks, cause I bought him a nice Square D 125amp rated panel for his birthday, but the main is on the top, like most panels. I see running the feeders in the bottom, through the panel to the top breaker being very impractical, and unsafe as well. I'm sure it won't pass inspection.

My other question is the type of feeder. I would love to use SER in conduit, buried underground but I have not found anywhere in the NEC where it says you can or can't do this. Do I have to use USER? And is that with or without conduit? I would usually run it with. Thanks alot everyone, I'm trying hard to get him a car lift so I can use it.

Sponsored Links
Old 08-31-07, 08:44 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
> do I need a bottom fed panel (main breaker).

No, you do not need a bottom feed panel, but you can use one if you wish. Most panels come with instructions how to convert to bottom or top feed anyway -- take the screws out, flip the guts around, re-install.

> through the panel to the top breaker being very impractical, and unsafe
> as well. I'm sure it won't pass inspection.