Spa on 40A service?

Reply

  #1  
Old 08-31-07, 06:29 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: usa
Posts: 4
Spa on 40A service?

Hello

Trying to see if I can make things work here. We recently aquired a really nice used hot tub for very cheap - perfect! The problem we have, is the service to our house is not adequate (common problem, I'm sure). Currently, we have 125A service which is way, way more than we could ever normally use. Effiecent appliances, line dry clothes, Etc.

Anyway, the tub requires 60 service, which as things stand, would require new service to our home. The circumstances of where we live, this is a 7-9K upgrade, and not really an option for us at this time.

Here's my question. I did a service calculation on our house, and we "require" app. 105A. We have 30A dedicated to a electric dryer, which we do not use (have gas). Would it be an option to:

A) replace the 30A breaker with a 40A breaker and,
B) remove/disable the recepticle for the dryer, and
c) replace the heating element in the tub with a lower wattage element and/or spa pack if necessary?

I know the first two are possible, but can you heat the tub on a lower wattage heating element? It would seem to me it would need to run twice as much, last half as long, but for sure be an option. I would think once heated, it would not be such a detriment.

FYI, the tub is 375 gal, 3 hp pump.

I'm well aware the "correct" solution is to get the 200A service, and that would certainly be an option maybe in a few years. Just need to see if there is an option with waht we currently have.

Thanks!

Chris
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 09-04-07, 09:59 PM
todrut's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 1,212
Chris, I moved your thread here, I'm sure we can get a better answer to your question.

What do you say guys, can you help him out???
 
  #3  
Old 09-04-07, 10:20 PM
Member
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: NA
Posts: 1,065
What demand load calculation did you use?


The only way your going to know if you can modify/replace the tubs heating elements and spa pack is to speak with the manufacturers service and technical department.


roger
 
  #4  
Old 09-05-07, 08:32 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: usa
Posts: 4
Hi Roger

Thanks for the reply.

I did this calcualtion:

http://www.taunton.com/finehomebuilding/PDF/Free/Service_Feeder_Calculations.pdf

I assume this changes from location to location, but seemed a good place to start.

The tub is made by Advanced Spas. I have not been able to find them online and suspect they are no longer in business. Seems to be a quality unit, though.

I used to do a fair amount of work on industrial ovens, and swapping out heating elements for different performance was fairly common. I guess I assumed a spa worked on similar feedback and would run fine reconfigured.

Just playing with ideas here...

Thanks

Chris
 
  #5  
Old 09-05-07, 08:45 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Near Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 10,539
> We have 30A dedicated to a electric dryer, which we do not use (have
> gas). Would it be an option to:

Yes, you may disconnect the electric dryer to "free-up" additional capacity in your service calculation. I would do nothing more than disconnect the dryer hot wires from the breaker and cap them off with wirenuts.

> know the first two are possible, but can you heat the tub on a lower
> wattage heating element?

I would avoid modifying the tub outside of manufacturer's spec. Disconnecting the unused electric dryer would be a much better option.

> I guess I assumed a spa worked on similar feedback and would run fine reconfigured.

As long as you used an element that was equal to or less than the original current, it would work just fine electrically. The problem is that you void the UL listing of the tub by installing non-approved parts. If the tub ever caused a fire or shocked someone, the insurance companies (and possibly the prosecutor) are going to be looking for who modified the tub. Now assuming that you have the GFCI protection and bonding all installed correctly and it's working correctly, a faulty element should not be able to hurt anyone; so it sort of boils down to a technicality. Additionally you may have trouble finding a different wattage element which will physically fit into the spa heater chamber with all the gaskets sealing tight, etc.
 
  #6  
Old 09-05-07, 09:33 AM
todrut's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 1,212
Glad to see you're getting some answers, I can give some input on heating elements, there are different Kw of the same style element. So say you can change a 8Kw for a 4Kw What you will get is a slower initial heat rate, and possible not being able to maintain heat while using spa depending what part of country you're in and season.
 
  #7  
Old 09-05-07, 06:56 PM
Member
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Euclid, Oh
Posts: 318
I agree with ipbrooks.

Use the dryer Circuit breaker location and use the correct wiring and breaker for the Spa to a " Spa Box" that is GFI protected.

I have a 50 amp spa circuit on only a 100 amp service. The Spa does not use 50 amps, that is a peak rating.

Some Spas have an "alternate connecting method". This basically is a jumper that wont allow the spa to heat while running the jets on full speed.

Of course if you are doing this yourself - read up on the proper connecting of the electrical.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes