Ceiling Fan trips GFCIs

Reply

  #1  
Old 09-04-07, 07:47 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 56
Ceiling Fan trips GFCIs

I have had a Kichler fan installed in my bedroom for about a year w/o problem. Fan is rarely used. It has a light and remote control. Just recently when I turn the fan on, the blades make about one turn then the GFCI in the bathroom on that floor and the GFCI on the floor below trip. Turning the light on will not trip the GFCIs. I have made no other changes to the electrical and there was no other load on the circuit. What steps should I take to diagnose? Thanks.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 09-04-07, 07:50 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 56
Fan Trips GFCI

I have had a Kichler fan installed in my bedroom for about a year w/o problem. It has a light and remote control. Just recently when I turn the fan on, the blades make about one turn then the GFCI in the bathroom on that floor and the GFCI on the floor below trip. Turning the light on will not trip the GFCIs. I have made no other changes to the electrical and there was no other load on the circuit. What steps should I take to diagnose? Thanks.
 
  #3  
Old 09-04-07, 08:42 AM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
Nothing. Motors sometimes trip GFCIs.

Rewire the GFCI receptacles so that you do not have one GFCI in series with the other, and so that the bedroom is not GFCI protected.
 
  #4  
Old 09-04-07, 10:24 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,126
It doesn't need to be on a GFCI. As a motor ages it may develop a slight current leakage. Not enough to be unsafe but enough to trip a GFCI. Older GFCIs were more prone to this so replacing the GFCI might fix it or you might want to run a new circuit. Of course the fan motor could be going bad to. I'd replace the GFCI first.

You do not need two GFCIs on the same circuit. It's not really wrong just not needed. If your replacing GFCIs you might find which is the first one and replace it then use a regular receptacle down stream. Be sure to test if you do this that the remaining GFCI really protects it.
 
  #5  
Old 09-04-07, 10:56 AM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
Please only one post per question.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes