Conduit to use in-wall?

Reply

  #1  
Old 09-08-07, 07:36 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Pleasantville, NY
Posts: 548
Conduit to use in-wall?

I am running some low-volt cable within a conduit so it will be easier to upgrade or replace the cable in the future. I went to my local Home Depot thinking I would buy the grey PVC that is typically used for runs of AC cable outdoors or in a garage. The clerk at HD told me that the grey could not be used in-wall and that since I was running LV, that I should use the orange flexible PVC.

Is it true that the grey PVC used for outdoor runs should not be used in wall?

Thanks
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 09-08-07, 07:44 PM
Speedy Petey's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 2,455
Rule #1 - DO NOT listen to the clerk at home depot.

PVC is fine.
 
  #3  
Old 09-08-07, 07:44 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Pleasantville, NY
Posts: 548
Wow, that WAS speedy!

Thanks!
 
  #4  
Old 09-08-07, 07:49 PM
HotxxxxxxxOKC's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 8,044
I've done alot of LV drops in my home and find no need for conduit. I can easily go up in the attic and pull any of the cable I dropped since it's not secured to any wall studs.

Your situation maybe different if you are doing a horizontal run, but if you are not, I wouldn't spend the money. That's just my opinion.
 
  #5  
Old 09-08-07, 07:56 PM
nap's Avatar
nap
nap is offline
New Member
Join Date: May 2006
Location: north
Posts: 4,163
Originally Posted by GaetanoL View Post
Wow, that WAS speedy!

Thanks!
why yes that was. speedy petey to be more exact. I'm not on a first name basis with him so I still call him speedy petey.


as to what conduit to use.

any conduit you want to use is legal. the orange stuff may be easier to install, depending on how and where it is run. It is more flexible than pvc and they have these neat little snap couplings and connectors for it rather than having to glue everything.
 
  #6  
Old 09-08-07, 09:51 PM
ddr
ddr is offline
Member
Join Date: May 2006
Location: New York City
Posts: 133
I think Speedy Petey's spider-sense starts to tingle whenever someone posts that they've gotten advice at Home Depot, just like racraft's alerts him whenever someone posts that they don't know which breakers to check in his/her own house.
 
  #7  
Old 09-08-07, 10:20 PM
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: NE Wis / Paris France{ In France for now }
Posts: 4,808
DDR: i think you almost hit the nail right on with two guys here both been done a wonderfull job in here and they steer alot of peoples in right dricetions as well

even myself i steer them in the right way also.

speaking of PVC conduct in the wall cavity there is no issuse with that it been there for petty long time for other types there is also almost no issuse with it as well.

My shop have EMT conduct inside the wall all the way around i know it take more time but in long run it work out nice for me.

the commercal side been doing this for many years without any side effects at all

Merci, Marc
 
  #8  
Old 09-09-07, 04:17 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Pleasantville, NY
Posts: 548
Originally Posted by HotinOKC View Post
I've done alot of LV drops in my home and find no need for conduit. I can easily go up in the attic and pull any of the cable I dropped since it's not secured to any wall studs.

Your situation maybe different if you are doing a horizontal run, but if you are not, I wouldn't spend the money. That's just my opinion.
Hot,

Yes, I'm looking at conduit for some long horizontal runs, and also because there are a few spots with some curves where I could see things getting snagged. I thought I might use the rigid where I can with the flexible, since the rigid is so much less expensive per foot.

How do you hanlde your horizontal runs? Do you just run them through the studs?

Thanks,
Guy
 
  #9  
Old 09-09-07, 06:42 AM
HotxxxxxxxOKC's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 8,044
Depending on the situation, I will knotch out a stud and lay the cables in there, but I've installed PVC in portions of my fathers home that ran horizontal. It definetly helps in those situations.

When you do install the runs, be sure to pull a strong fishing line, rope, what have you through the conduit so if you ever need to pull more cable through, you already have one in the conduit. Just remember to attach a piece of string/rope at the end of the cable. Hopefully that makes sense.
 
  #10  
Old 09-18-07, 02:56 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Pleasantville, NY
Posts: 548
OK, so I'm moving along with this project of using conduit for my horizontal runs of LV wire. Also using flex conduit for any tricky curves.

I have vertical runs of wire along the way that I'd like to add to the horizontal conduits. What's the proper way to do this? I thought I'd find a "Y," like when I've worked with multi-inch rigid PVC. But I have not seem "Ys" in the small diameter's I'm working with (1/2"-1").

I've come across "tees," but I was concerned that the sharp bends of the T would be too acute for the CAT5 and RG6 that I'm running--I understand that the curve radius for these wires should not be too short.

Thanks in advance for sharing your experience.
 
  #11  
Old 09-18-07, 03:11 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Near Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 10,337
There are no "Y"s in electrical conduit. There are 45-90 sweeps, "T" condulets, and various "L" fittings. If none of these is sufficient, you can use a 4" square pull box with conduits exiting in whatever direction you wish.
 
  #12  
Old 09-18-07, 03:15 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,433
Since any fitting like a T would need to remain accessible in order to add or change wiring in the future you would be better off with 2 independant runs.

Notching the studs will compromise their strength. You can pull the ENT or smurf tube trhu bored holes in the studs.
 
  #13  
Old 09-18-07, 05:48 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
Conduit used for low voltage wires has no requirements for boxes to remain accessible.

I don't recommend they be buried, but they can be.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'