Hooking up old 240 for Stove

Old 09-09-07, 12:23 PM
Exclamation Hooking up old 240 for Stove

I've been reading through here and a lot of information I found here has been helpful. Although I have a few questions. So I'll start from the beginning.

A house I am renting and moved into was converted into a hair salon with an apartment upstairs from the shop. This is how everything was laid off before moving in. Now I'm trying to get it back to a single family home.

For what ever reason the 240 line to the downstairs kitchen was disconnected and breaker removed. There was an existing 240 upstairs in the kitchen (which was installed recently). The upstairs and downstairs are both on their own individual breaker boxes. There has been some new wiring that was done to accommodate the hair salon.

Anyway, I have already Hooked up the stove.

This is how I did it, I am hoping if anyone sees a flaw in this they will let me know as soon as possible (I'm not an electrician).

I first uninstalled the 50 amp breaker that was being used upstairs for the stove and totally removed the wiring from the breaker box in the attic. As I said, there was an existing wire (not sure what gauge, but its as big as the wire that was used upstairs for the stove) already ran from the basement breaker box to the old kitchen (only wire in the basement that was unhooked from the breaker box, very thick old braided casing with 2 hot 1 ground) so I'm assuming that was the original stove wiring.

I installed the 3 prong receptacle where I wanted the stove and reused the 50 amp breaker (from the attic) to tie in to the breaker box using the old original wiring thats probably as old as the house. 1920's - 30's?

These are the specs I can give you:
50 amp breaker
big old original wire (dont know what gauge, looks like a 6, but not sure)
GE Stove model# JBP26G*N1AD
100 amp Main Breaker