Change switch from wall outlet to lights?

Reply

  #1  
Old 09-11-07, 08:27 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 1
Change switch from wall outlet to lights?

I have a switch in my living room that controls a wall outlet that I'm wanting to change so it controls lights instead. The concept I'm trying to achieve is have lighting run to all my walls along the ceiling in my living room and controlled with a dimmer switch.

1st: Is it going to be a pain to do the wiring aspect of this (changing it from the wall outlet to running all the lights).

2nd: is there any tips anyone has for this?

3rd: Does anyone have any pictures of a similiar looking set-up so that I can make sure my idea isn't going to look crappy. Was thinking about putting molding up, leaving about a 2" gap and haveing the lights shine up from behind it, but not to sure about that idea.

sorry if this is a repost couldn't find anything about it.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 09-11-07, 09:19 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 32,809
Part of the answer depends on if the switch is on a switch loop. Describe all the wiring at the switch and at the receptacle. Do you have access above such as an attic. A new circuit may be the easiest.
 
  #3  
Old 09-11-07, 09:37 PM
brewcityc's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 164
The idea you're talking about is not an uncommon one. It is a beautiful way to accent a room. If you go this route, you'll probably want to leave the outlet switched, or install a ceiling light. Accent lighting is more for decoration than general lighting. You can get more light out of your accent lighting by putting a reflector inside your cove and painting the ceiling white. If you go with rope lighting, you could even use aluminum foil as a reflector. Here's a link that will show you an example of cove lighting along with possible light fixtures you could use: http://www.pegasusassociates.com/pro...ht/covelt.html

I would just fish power up from the switched lighting and hook it up in one spot. From there run the lighting around the room. No need to run power to each wall.
 
  #4  
Old 09-12-07, 04:20 AM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
If you can fish a wire to the switch then you can get power from there, since you no longer want the receptacles to be switched.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'