Grounding Wires

Reply

  #1  
Old 09-16-07, 05:40 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Western New York
Posts: 44
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Grounding Wires

Just finished pigtailing my neutrals and hots, and all of that went fine. Before I start on the grounds and do something wrong, I want to make sure what I am thinking is correct. I have the grounding wire nuts, grounding screws for my boxes, but am unsure of how to bring it all together. DO I cut one ground shorter than the other? Does there have to be 6" of ground wire in the box, with 3" outside the box? What I was think was cut one ground shorter, wire nut them together, loop remaining ground to box grounding screw and then I have my ground for the device. Do the same for my j-box? Cut 2 grounds shorter and use remaining ground to box ground screw. All of this bare copper is ok in these boxes? Also do I need to have clamps on the wires in the j-box if only one wire is going through its own knockout? When are clamps a must?

*J-box has 3 - 12/2 wires coming in.
*Recepticles are of 12/2 wire with 7" of wire in 2 3/4 deep boxes.
*Box fill requirements are met
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 09-16-07, 07:25 AM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
If you are using the wire nuts that have a hole in them, you make one wire longer than the others, and allow it to extend out the wire nut. It can be connected to the metal box or to the device, but NOT both. You must use a normal pigtail for the other item to be connected.
 
  #3  
Old 09-16-07, 11:27 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Western New York
Posts: 44
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks. I knew the concept, just wasn't sure on the execution. Very glad I stumbled onto this site. You guys have been great.
 
  #4  
Old 09-16-07, 12:13 PM
Speedy Petey's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 2,455
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
"It can be connected to the metal box or to the device, but NOT both."

HUH???
Sorry Bob, I have to strongly disagree.
It is perfectly fine to loop the ground wire around the box screw and then continue on to the device. In fact, I hit the box first with one looped wire, then twist all the grounds, then wire nut (crimp), then to the device.
 
  #5  
Old 09-16-07, 12:21 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Speedy,

I have been told that this is no longer allowed. I may be wrong and it may have been just personal opinion/preference, but I have heard of this causing failed inspections.
 
  #6  
Old 09-16-07, 02:14 PM
Speedy Petey's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 2,455
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Nothing national or in NY has changed, nor have I even heard a hint of it.
This has been accepted practice for years.
 
  #7  
Old 09-16-07, 07:30 PM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: North of Boston, MA.
Posts: 2,113
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
"It can be connected to the metal box or to the device, but NOT both."

Infact, It is better to not have more splices than needed in a ground, Keep it as continuous as possible.

The wrap and extend is standard practice.

Unless you have a "GROUNDING TYPE" device you MUST connect to the green screw on the device (metal boxes).
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: