wiring a hot tub

Old 09-17-07, 04:10 PM
wiring a hot tub

Anyone,
Going to help my friend wire a hot tub. Its 220 and 50 amps. I know I need to install a GFCI. My question is: Should I use a regular 50 amp breaker from the main box to get power out near the hot tub....then......from there go into a GFCI Breaker / service disconect.....and from there go to the hot tub. This would mean that i would have three wires (ground, hot, neutral) coming from the main box. These would go to the GFCI circuit. From the GFCI circuit to the hot tub there would be four wires right? B/C of the two neautrals involved with a GFCI?
Chris

Sponsored Links
Old 09-17-07, 05:05 PM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
You can't get 240 from 1 hot wire. You need two hots (black/red) a neutral (white) and a ground (green/bare).

I'm no electrician, but hot tubs have specific codes that need to be met. I suggest you do some good reading.

Old 09-17-07, 05:12 PM
Question

Would this be a 120/240V hot tub? Most are.

Need the paper work.

In general: Run a 4 wire set up from the main panel to the hot tub panel. Regular 50A 2 pole at main panel and you can buy a hot tub disconnect panel that includes the GFCI breaker.

This is not however the end. There are many code/safety issues that are associated with this type of install.

Do some research and we can answer from there.

Old 09-17-07, 05:17 PM
Yeh, you might want to do a little research before you jump right into this little project, But heres what I basically do on a hot tub wiring job, i'll run a feeder from the panel to a hot tub disconnect outside 5' away from the hot tub, this disconnect will contain my gfi protection, then I like to install conduit from my hottub disconnect into the bottom of the unit, makes a nice clean install...

You'll have to read the hot tubs instructions on what size wire you'll be pulling, some are 50amp some are 60amp... and the required voltage...

Old 09-17-07, 08:04 PM
thanks