Add dryer

Reply

  #1  
Old 09-17-07, 08:54 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 2
zeke

I would like to know if i can add a dryer to a 125A breaker. The load is now 60 amps per leg.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 09-17-07, 09:47 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
What makes you say the load is 60 amps per leg?

Is this a 120 volt or 240 volt dryer?
 
  #3  
Old 09-18-07, 12:19 AM
brewcityc's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 164
If you have to ask a question like that, I'd suggest hiring an electrician. Dryers are usually 30amp 120/240 volts. I believe sometimes even 40 amps. I've never heard of a 60 amp dryer.... If indeed it is 60 amps and 120/240 volts, you'd just need a 60 double pole breaker. Don't play with electricity if you don't have a clue what you're doing. You could wind up burning your house down or someone could get electrocuted.
 
  #4  
Old 09-18-07, 12:48 AM
Member
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: NA
Posts: 1,065
I think we need to wait for him to explain as bob asked before we start implying whether his question is not worthy.


roger
 
  #5  
Old 09-18-07, 05:22 AM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
My suspicion is that he is is asking if he can add a dryer to his 125 amp panel. I believe he is stating that the current load on the panel is 60 amps. I am asking how he determined 60 amps, which is a very round number.
 
  #6  
Old 09-18-07, 07:35 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 2
Zeke

Originally Posted by racraft View Post
What makes you say the load is 60 amps per leg?

Is this a 120 volt or 240 volt dryer?
[/I]

I put an amp meter on each leg of the breaker with the
ac, hot water, lights etc and i am drawing 58.68 amps
on one leg and 57.6 on the other (exactly).
I simply wanted to know if i could add a 240v 40amp sub-panel and still be within spec!!!!!!!!!
 
  #7  
Old 09-18-07, 07:46 AM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
What does a 40 amp sub panel have to do with a dryer?

The next question would be when did you measure the current? How many appliances were turned on? Was this during a period of average usage? Was it during heavy usage? Light usage?

But it does not really matter. Regardless of what the current draw is you can always add a sub panel. Adding a sub panel does nothing to the amount of current used.

The issue is what you add to the sub panel. A 30 amp dryer. But then what else? Not much, because when the dryer runs you will load down each leg. Perhaps a circuit on each leg.

Further, they do not make 40 amp sub panels. You could go with a 60 amp panel, or better yet a 100 amp panel. Then decide what to feed it with. Why feed it with 40 amps? Why not feed it with the largest size breaker allowed for the panel (60 amp or 100 amp)? If the sub panel is right next to the main panel then the wire cost is not an issue.

Why don't you start at the beginning and let us know what it is you want to do, and we can better address your situation.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes