Code Question

Old 09-18-07, 01:00 AM
Code Question

The hot tub thread brought up an old question I had. Being a commercial electrician, I haven't installed too many hot tubs, so my experience on the topic is limited. I helped a friend hook up a hot tub a couple of years ago and decided to refresh my code memory. When I came upon article 680.41 (Emergency Switch for Spas and Hot Tubs) I noticed that the very last sentence said that the code was not required for single-family dwellings. I've always heard that code applied to all dwellings. It turned out that the friend's panel was full (small panel with a lot of small circuits) and I had to remove a couple of breakers to make room for a double pole breaker. I had to install the hot tub disconnect (sub panel) next to the panel to refeed the 2 circuits I pulled. He didn't have a lot of money, so I did this as the cheapest solution. This means there's no emergency disconnect outside by the hot tub. I did however leave the feed spliced in the GFCI box so another disconnect could be added if needed. I asked some of the guys at work about it that following Monday and they said it was no legal. It seems clearly stated that the code does not apply to single-family dwellings. Am I missing something? Is this a recent code change? Did these guys not know better?

If it turns out that I was wrong, I'll go back and install another disconnect. I'm not too worried about it otherwise, because it can easily be disconnected at the hot tub. All of the power comes out of the control box via a harness. In an emergency, all you'd have to do is pull the harness. Plus it's GFCI protected at the breaker....

Sponsored Links
Old 09-18-07, 01:54 AM
P.S. - not that it makes much difference... I just wanted to clarify that the GFCI box that the hot tub feed is spliced in is the outlet that services the hot tub. I used an oversized box and blanked the rest off in case you're wondering about boxfill...

Old 09-18-07, 04:27 AM