I hit a black button please help me!!!

Old 09-19-07, 11:46 AM
Exclamation I hit a black button please help me!!!

First and foremost I'm not an electrician so bear with me if I get some terms wrong.

I recently went about changing my standard outlets in the kitchen and bathroom to GFCI outlets. I used a Gardner Bender Ground Fault Indicator Tester; 1/Cd, 10Cds/Master to test the bathrooms standard outlet before making the switch. When I went to pull out the tester I accidentally hit the black test button. It instantly killed power to 3 outlets (both bathrooms and an outlet outside). Here's where it gets weird. It never tripped the panel's box and it's only the plug outlets that are not working. They all were working fine prior to this.

The rest of the outlets on the circuit ie: bathroom light switch & bedroom ceiling fan all work fine. I tried installing the GFCI outlet and still have no power to to it. I'm at a loss as to what happened. It all seems to go back to my screw up of hitting the black button. Any suggestions or help will be greatly appreciated.

/raises fist

"curse you soul stealing black button"

Sponsored Links
Old 09-19-07, 11:54 AM
I do not fully understand your post, but I do know this.

You either tripped a GFCI somewhere on th circuit, or you caused some other problem that cause a weak connection to open.

Verify that you have not tripped a GFCI somewhere, and verify proper power feeding the receptacles.

Old 09-19-07, 12:07 PM
Press the reset button on every single GFCI in and out of your entire house. Make sure you find them all, even that one in the garage behind the canoe.

Old 09-19-07, 12:47 PM