Wiring a 3 wire motion sensor to a light

Reply

  #1  
Old 09-24-07, 07:49 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 2
Wiring a 3 wire motion sensor to a light

Hi all - I have a scenario where I would like to wire a motion sensor separately from the light itself, in order to turn the light on before walking around the corner for example... basically, I would like to enable a non-motion halogen light to become motion sensed... if that makes sense?

I purchased a replacement motion sensor head and have mounted it on a 1/2" box plate using the threaded connector, this is similar to buying a 1 head spotlight and doing the mounting yourself... never-the-less, this sensor has 3 wires coming out of it - black, white, red...

I have power coming out of the house and into the first box (motion sensor) and from this box have run another 14/2 wire up to the light and have wired the light black-to-black and white-to-white, and of course grounded it...

My issue is how to connect the motion, since this is a replacement head, is this possible? I can't see why not with a little creativity here...

Just to be clear this is what the first junction box looks like:

from house (power) - white/black
from light - white/black
motion sensor - white/black/red

I've omitted the copper grounds as they are assumed to be connected...

Any ideas? Thanks in advance!

ps. the instructions are specific to replacing a defective head on an existing motion, I'm using this head as way to control a light which did not previously have a motion sensor...
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 09-24-07, 08:02 AM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
The black wire is the input to the sensor, the red wire is the switched output. The white wire, of course, is the neutral.
 
  #3  
Old 09-24-07, 08:12 AM
Member
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 929
From the house to the sensor: black to black, white to white.
From the sensor to the light: white to white, red on sensor to black on light.
 
  #4  
Old 09-24-07, 11:51 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 2
Hi everyone, connected as described and it's working perfectly...

THANK-YOU!

As with any electrical DIY job, it's always better to have confirmation from the pros so thank you all for your input with this.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'