220V Programmable Thermostat Install

Old 10-13-07, 01:13 PM
220V Programmable Thermostat Install

Hey guys, I just have a quick question to ensure I am installing a new programmable thermostat properly to my 220V electric baseboard heat system. I bought the LuxPro PSPLV510 programmable therm. with one black and one red wire coming from the back of the therm. When taking off the old one I see two black wires, one coming down the wall into the box, and one up the wall from the ground into the box (looks like a 2 wire cable with only hot wires hooked to old therm). I just want to make sure which wire gets connected to which. We just moved in and have never had 220V electric heat, only gas which we will convert to later. I'm not an electrician, but know I can do this one myself and Any help would be great...Thanks!

http://luxproproducts.com/pdfs/elv1_eng.pdf

Sponsored Links
Old 10-13-07, 01:31 PM
I don;t understand the question. If the wires are marked line and load then connect them properly. If they are not marked then it does not matter.

Old 10-13-07, 01:33 PM
I have just read your post several times, and still cannot find the question. Just kidding.

You are over complecating the install.

Hook up one of the wires from the cable that comes in the top of the box to the t stat, hook up one of the wires that comes from the bottom cable to the t stat. Leave the others spliced through the box.

The T stat is only acting as a switch. The battery is for the other functions. Polarity should not matter.

Old 10-13-07, 03:20 PM
Sorry guys

Sorry guys, I guess what Im asking is that the two black wires coming from the box can be hooked up to either the black or the red wire on the stat...right? I dont have to specifically hook one to the red and the other to the black, so long as they are both hooked to the stat...I just dont want to hook them up backwards or something and cause a fire hazard.