Basement Wiring

Reply

  #1  
Old 10-22-07, 04:51 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Basement Wiring

I have finished off an existing basement that has a 12-2 run to a 15 amp breaker that is not going to cut it for my new TV, stereo, and computers. I have an additional space available in my breaker box for another 15, what are my options to get more amps?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 10-22-07, 05:09 PM
HotxxxxxxxOKC's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 8,044
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
If this circuit is all 12-2 wiring, you can put a 20amp breaker in there instead of a 15.
 
  #3  
Old 10-22-07, 05:16 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
thanks

Thanks Mark ! What sort of wattage can I pull from a 20 over the 15?
 
  #4  
Old 10-22-07, 06:58 PM
HotxxxxxxxOKC's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 8,044
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
15 = 1440 watts

20 = 1920 watts

this is at 80% load of the breaker.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: