Control Circuit Question

Reply

  #1  
Old 10-23-07, 01:49 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 114
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Control Circuit Question

I am building a control circuit and having difficulty with a voltage drop.

The application is going to control a fireplace fan via (two or three speeds) via a home automation system.

I have obtained a motor controler that takes a VDC input between 0 and 10VDC and controls the motor speed (10VDC = 100%, 5VDC = approx 50%, etc.).

The control circuit I built consists of the following:

A tranformer with an unregulated output rated at 12VDC and 1000 ma. (measured output is 15DC.

The tranformer is connected to a 12VDC voltage regulator.

The voltage regulator is connected to 6 2.2K ohm resisters connected in series.

I then tap off different points in the series network to get the desired voltage.

What is happening if I put the meter on the series network at I get the correct voltate (e.g. 10VDC). When I then connect that same point to the motor controller and measure the voltage accross the control signal input terminals I get about 5.7VDC (they share a common ground).

What might be causing this voltage drop and how might I eliminate it. I do not suspect the controller signal inputs put any load on the circuit.

Thanks for your help,
David
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 10-23-07, 02:22 PM
Member
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 1,359
Received 10 Votes on 10 Posts
this is a little confusing

Is the idea to do a continuously variable fan, or a 3 speed fan? In any case, I DO suspect input loading is causing your voltage drop. What else COULD cause it? Using smaller resistor values will lower the source impedance, and that will result in a lower voltage drop. A better way is to use a regulator for each step that you need, but more $.
 
  #3  
Old 10-23-07, 02:34 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 114
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
The objective is a 3 speed fan

Thanks for the reply. The objective is a three speed fan not a continuously variable fan.

With the motor controller I have I am going to pick three voltage inputs 6, 8 and 10VDC to trigger the three speeds.

The reason why I cannot use an off the shelf switch is this is integrated into a home automation system. So I will be using relays to turn on/off the input voltage.

I have to admit this was quite a bit of brain damage for speed control but I am down this path now so I might as well finish.

I think your suggestion of three regulators makes since. Since this is a "one of" I don't think the extra cost will be prohibitive.

Thanks,
David
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: