Very Simple Question about Voltmeter

Old 10-23-07, 07:34 PM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Very Simple Question about Voltmeter

Our dryer spins but doesn't heat. Everything in the dryer tested fine (dryer fuses, thermal fuse, thermostat and heating element) Now I am trying to get a reading at the dryer wall receptacle (4 prong) to see if the problem is not getting 240V needed to run the heatin element. I get 120V at three different holes and then one hole has nothing. I know I'm supposed to get 240v...is that all at once on the meter or am I supposed to add the two 120's that I get....I know this is probably a stupid question but I'm still learning. Since I'm only getting 120v at each hole does that mean that the breaker is blown? I checked the breaker and nothing is flipped. I tried flipping them back and forth a few times but nothing changes at the receptable. Thanks for any insight!!

Sponsored Links
Old 10-23-07, 08:16 PM
You should be able to get 240 ..between the two vertical slots.

!20 will show between ground and either vertical or neutral and either vertical

Old 10-23-07, 09:10 PM
If this dryer has never worked, then you have the wrong breaker. You probably used a tandem breaker when you needed a full double-pole.

If this used to work, then most likely your dryer heating element has burned out. You can usually see it cracked when you take off the rear cover. Dryer heating elements often burn out because the vent is clogged with lint. So be sure to check for a clear vent.

If you get 240 volts and your element is not burned out (remove it and test it with an ohmmeter), then you should probably call an appliance repairperson. It might be the control unit.

Old 10-24-07, 07:56 AM