Rewired 240v circuit to 120v 20amp GFCI outlet

Reply

  #1  
Old 10-28-07, 02:02 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Rewired 240v circuit to 120v 20amp GFCI outlet

We had two electrical heaters attached to a 20amp dual pole circuit breaker. We disconnected heaters and rewired circuit to two 120v 20amp GFCI outlets by disconnecting white wires and reconnecting to bus bar. Does the dual pole breaker need to be replaced by two 20amp single pole breakers or will the dual pole work as needed?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 10-28-07, 03:44 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I am having a hard time following what you started with.

Are you stating that you started with two 20 amp 240 volt circuits, and that you now want two 120 volt circuits? If so then you can use a double pole breaker if you want, but I wouldn't. Both circuits will go out if either one causes a trip.
 

Last edited by racraft; 10-29-07 at 08:13 AM.
  #3  
Old 10-28-07, 05:30 PM
core's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Des Moines, IA
Posts: 1,127
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I'm not understanding exactly what was done with the white white wires, but...

If this was turned into a multi wire circuit, wouldn't a double pole breaker be safer for the next guy who's going to be tinkering with this? I've seen that recommendation here before, but like I said I don't follow exactly what was done.
 
  #4  
Old 10-28-07, 08:20 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks for your comments - I'll try to explain better. There were two heaters wired separately to the same 240v 20amp dual pole breaker. The heaters were removed and wiring reused to set set up two 120v 20 amp GFCI outlets in our garage. I agree it's probably better to have two 20 amp breakers rather than two separately wired outlets connected to the dual pole 20 amp breaker - if one goes - we won't know which line has a problem. Thanks
 
  #5  
Old 10-28-07, 10:41 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
Is this 12-3 with ground you are using?
 
  #6  
Old 10-29-07, 08:08 AM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 18,497
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
As has already been stated, you may use the double-pole breaker.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: