ground and neutral again (sorry)

Reply

  #1  
Old 11-12-07, 05:27 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: downeast maine
Posts: 35
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
ground and neutral again (sorry)

I realize this is very similar to a question that was just covered, but from the other poster's pictures it looks a little different and I want to be sure what I'm doing is ok.

My main breaker panel has 2 neutral/grounding bars ( the ones that individual circuits neutral an ground wires are connected to).

The one on the left has the ground cable which leads to a ground rod outside the building. The one on the right has the neutral from the electric service. There is a large strap connecting the two bars. There is a bonding screw on the right side which (I believe) is used to ground the body of the panel.

This is a very new Siemens panel.

My question is: when I am connecting a receptacle or light circuit, can the ground wire and neutral wire be put onto the same bar or do the ground wires go to one side and the neutrals go to the other side?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 11-12-07, 05:36 AM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 6,682
Received 75 Votes on 69 Posts
In your case they can go into the same bar. The can not go into the same hole. Only one neutral per hole is permitted.
 
  #3  
Old 11-13-07, 07:32 PM
Member
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Ontario Canada
Posts: 1,767
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Technically you can put both wires on the same bar, but it is good workmanship to use one bar for grounding, the other for neutral.
 
  #4  
Old 11-13-07, 07:39 PM
Member
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Delray Beach, FL
Posts: 406
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
It does not matter where you put them as they are mechanically and electrically connected.
They are considered one bar.
 
  #5  
Old 11-13-07, 07:45 PM
Unclediezel's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Northeastern PA.
Posts: 2,230
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by classicsat View Post
Technically you can put both wires on the same bar, but it is good workmanship to use one bar for grounding, the other for neutral.
One step better.......(Or at least another alternative)

Buy two ground buss kits....mount them to the panel (There are pre drilled holes for these) and use these for ground terminations. Leave the bonding screw in place, and run a #6 ( or appropriate for your svc amperage) "Jumper" between the neutral buss and your new ground busses....

My panel had double and triple wires under the screws ---so Im a big fan of "More is better" when it comes to this situation.

"Anyone who feels this is "Overkill" --Hasnt seen My Panel"-
 
  #6  
Old 11-14-07, 01:21 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Just outside of Phila
Posts: 350
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by Unclediezel View Post
"Anyone who feels this is "Overkill" --Hasnt seen My Panel"-
How about a picture
 
  #7  
Old 11-14-07, 03:12 PM
Unclediezel's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Northeastern PA.
Posts: 2,230
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by johny2050 View Post
How about a picture
" Sorry, but the flash just glares off all of those WHITE wires
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: