Electrical Help


  #1  
Old 11-20-07, 06:05 PM
E
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Meridian, ID
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Electrical Help

My panel is full and I need a 220 breaker in it to run my oven for powdercoating. I tried buying some duplex breakers to condense a couple of my breakers down but they won't fit. The notch does not let them go in all the way. So I am guessing that I can't do it. The box is a square D 100 amp box and is only 4 years old. What can I do to get another 220 in there?
 
  #2  
Old 11-20-07, 06:12 PM
S
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: WI/MN
Posts: 20,165
Received 1,165 Votes on 1,123 Posts
Sounds like time for a new panel and maybe a service upgrade.
 
  #3  
Old 11-20-07, 06:29 PM
E
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Meridian, ID
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I think that is my only option at this point.
 
  #4  
Old 11-20-07, 07:06 PM
D
Member
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Delray Beach, FL
Posts: 405
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
If your existing panel is not overloaded, you can install a subfeed breaker, add a small panel next to it and relocate a couple of circuits and add the one that you need.
 
  #5  
Old 11-21-07, 08:03 AM
M
Member
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: USA
Posts: 994
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
If the breakers you bought didn't fit, either your panel doesn't support duplex breakers or you bought the wrong kind. I've added such breakers to a Square D panel in the past with no problem. Somewhere on the box should be a label that will tell you what type(s) of breakers are approved for use.
 
  #6  
Old 11-21-07, 08:23 AM
M
Member
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Lehigh Valley
Posts: 72
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
What md2lgyk wrote

HD or lowes carries them for about $10-11. I use the Cutler Hammer to do mine, You have to look at them before you buy. No immediate need for a panel upgrade.
 
  #7  
Old 11-21-07, 08:24 AM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 8,283
Received 441 Votes on 367 Posts
Originally Posted by md2lgyk View Post
If the breakers you bought didn't fit, either your panel doesn't support duplex breakers or you bought the wrong kind. I've added such breakers to a Square D panel in the past with no problem. Somewhere on the box should be a label that will tell you what type(s) of breakers are approved for use.
Or you tried them in the wrong slots. Some panels have only certain slots that will accept the twin breakers. If you tried them near the top of the panel you might want to try them near the bottom.

This forum requires that you wait 300 seconds between posts. Please try again in 104 seconds.
This is annoying. A 5 minute wait between posts??? Slows down my productivity
 
  #8  
Old 11-21-07, 08:42 AM
I
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Near Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 10,941
Received 45 Votes on 43 Posts
What is the model number of the squareD panel?
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: