Wire Size for Sub-panel Feeder

Old 11-22-07, 03:24 AM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Wire Size for Sub-panel Feeder

I'm going to install a sub-panel in my garage so I can run more than one shop tool at a time without overloading the single 20amp circuit that feeds two outlets in my garage as well as the two outdoor outlets, and the outlet next to my main panel. My wife also wants another outdoor circuit for holiday lighting. After adding up the total usage, I determined that I need a 60amp breaker on the main to feed the sub-panel. At the home improvement center they had a chart saying #6 wire is thick enough for a 60amp breaker, so I bought a 100' roll of #6 THHN. When I got home and thought about it a bit more, #6 wire seems a bit small, and Google appears to agree, saying #6 is only good for 30amps at 25'. Unless that's 30amps on each side of a 240v circuit = 60amps total, but that doesn't make sense to me. Then again, I'm not an electrician. I do have a book somewhere on wiring guidelines, but can't seem to locate it right now. So who's right, the store or Google? Thanks in advance

Old 11-22-07, 05:19 AM
R
Your wire is good for 60 amps. But you need three, or maybe four wires, for your panel. You need white wire for the neutral. Yiou need green or bare wire for the ground. You need black or red or some color for the hots. You cannot use a single color for all the wires.

It is better to figure out what you need first and then buy everything. There are many, many details here. YTou will make additional mistakes until and unless you understand exactly what you need.

Start at the beginning. Read one or two books on hime wiring, starting with Wiring Simplified. Then give us your plan and we can comment on it.

Old 11-22-07, 08:32 PM