Switched Outlet


  #1  
Old 11-24-07, 07:45 AM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 27
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Switched Outlet

I have installed two outlets outdoors. One is recessed in the exterior wall of the house. The other is on the same circuit going to the front yard planting area. They are both GFCI with the proper covers etc. Now that the holiday lights are going up (this was the whole purpose for the outlets) I would like to have them switch controlled. Is there any problem with a duplex box at the house holding a switch and outlet?
 
  #2  
Old 11-24-07, 08:05 AM
R
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,970
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Only that you will have to go to the box and flip the switch. Leave them unswitched and use an outdoor timer.
 
  #3  
Old 11-24-07, 09:11 PM
fungku's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Canada
Posts: 43
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
it's almost the same amount of effort as going out and plugging in or out the wires. I'd also suggest putting them on a timer.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: