Basement GFCI

Reply

  #1  
Old 12-02-07, 03:31 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Basement GFCI

I'm adding a new 20A circuit in the basement to help alleviate some overload from a 15A circuit that already exists.

I'm installing a GFCI breaker. I've read a few threads here that have managed to confuse me, so I figured I may as well ask:

Does code also require GFCI receptacles, or can I simply put the blue "GFCI Protected" stickers on regular 20A receptacles?

Thanks!
 
  #2  
Old 12-02-07, 03:34 PM
R
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,970
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
If the books confuse then you aren't reading the correct books.

GFCI protection is required in certain places. Unfinished basements is one of them. Code does not require GFCI receptacles, it merely requires GFCI protection. This protection can come from a GFCI breaker, a faceless GFCI or a GFCI receptacle.
 
  #3  
Old 12-02-07, 03:48 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by racraft View Post
If the books confuse then you aren't reading the correct books.

GFCI protection is required in certain places. Unfinished basements is one of them. Code does not require GFCI receptacles, it merely requires GFCI protection. This protection can come from a GFCI breaker, a faceless GFCI or a GFCI receptacle.
Cool, that's what I thought. Thanks for the clarification.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: