Knob & Tube - All or nothing?

Old 12-02-07, 04:12 PM
B
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Knob & Tube - All or nothing?

I am renovating a circa 1940's house and found a bunch of Knob and Tube wiring. My electrician has quoted me $3K to redo all wiring from the electrical panel to the receptacles but he says that there's no need to rewire the light fixtures b/c they don't pose a hazard with K+T. Is this true? Or is replacing K+T an all or nothing prospect? I am a bit new to all this, but I understood that a light switch was being powered by the nearest receptacle anyway so presumably if I pay to have all receptacles grounded then isn't the light fixture effectively grounded too? The panel itself has been updated and is 100amp service.

Anyone have advice?

Old 12-02-07, 04:25 PM
Group Moderator
Received 877 Upvotes on 740 Posts
Is your electrician bringing the house up to the requirements of your city? Some city's around here when you update the panel you must also upgrade the house with 2 kitchen small appliance circuits, GFCI's in bathrooms and ground light fixtures near water sources. (kitchens and baths) Also minimum spacing for outlets per square foot of a room (I think is was one outlet per 70 sq ft) and smoke detectors. Be sure to check what all is included before they start the job to avoid any surprises. 3K seams pretty fair to me.

As far as your light fixtures go, they will only be grounded if there is a ground wire from the switch to the light (or vice versa) K & T has no ground therefore a new cable or wire would need to be installed to ground the fixture

Old 12-02-07, 07:04 PM
J
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
No, this will not ground the lighting fixtures. But since the lighting fixtures are typically not within reach, it's not as important.