Help! Changed Light swtich

Reply

  #1  
Old 12-03-07, 01:32 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Help! Changed Light swtich

I leapt into this project, thinking it was simpler than what it was. Now I'm here.

A light switch in my bedroom controlled 1 plug (outlet has 2 plugs).

I changed the light switch, and then the outlet in question. Turned the power back on, and discovered the plug now controls EVERY OUTLET on the specific breaker/circuit.

What have I done, and how can I fix it. Dear God. Help.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 12-03-07, 01:36 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Tell us exactly what you did. Did you only mess with the switch? Did you mess at all with the receptacles?

What is the wiring at the switch? ALL the wiring? How many cables? How many wires? What were those wires connected to and what are they connected to now?
 
  #3  
Old 12-03-07, 01:40 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 7,036
Received 113 Votes on 103 Posts
and discovered the plug now controls EVERY OUTLET on the specific breaker/circuit.
Do you mean the switch does not control any receptacles or the switch now controls ALL the recpetacles.
Take a close look at the receptacle you removed. Look closely at the tab between the gold screws.
Tell us how you connected the wires to the new receptacle.
 
  #4  
Old 12-03-07, 05:38 PM
jrlogan1's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: usa
Posts: 67
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Sounds to me like you had a light switch that controlled one and only one receptacle socket. In other words, the receptacle (where you plug things in), which has two sockets, one above and one below, originally just had one of these switched, correct? The other one had constant power and all the others in the room had constant power? And you changed the receptacle, correct?

If this is the case, most likely that receptacle had the tab between the top and bottom separated. Most receptacles have both sockets hooked to together, so if you connect one, you've connected both. If you cut the tab between the top and bottom on the hot side, you now have two separate units that can be wired separately, ie: one switched and one constant power.

This make sense?
 
  #5  
Old 12-03-07, 05:59 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 18,497
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
We don't yet know exactly what's wrong, but we're pretty sure this is a simple, easily-corrected, mistake. And we'll be able to tell you how to fix it with just a little more information from you.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: