3 Phase and Motor circuits

Old 12-04-07, 05:34 AM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
3 Phase and Motor circuits

Probably beyond the DIY scope but I'll try anyway.

Im an auto mechanic of 20+ years and decided to pack up the tools, in favor of moving to the companys building maintenance department. No liscensing requirements, I'll be under a Supervisor at all times. Passed the written and hands on tests, But will completely admit that motors and 3 phase are not a Highlight of my resume.

What resources Would you guys recommend???? I guess for safety reasons, "INTRODUCTORY" 3 phase info is slim on the net...

Sponsored Links
Old 12-04-07, 07:05 AM
Received 15 Votes on 15 Posts
the motors themselves are very simple

You will find that a 3 phase motor will be far simpler than the the engines you serviced in the past. The fancy stuff comes before the motor, magnetic starters, thermal cutouts, reversers, open phase detectors, and the most complex; the variable frequency speed controllers. You might give us a read on what role you might have with the motors; rewinding, leakage measure, transmissions, bearing replace, controls, etc..

Old 12-04-07, 07:11 AM
Originally Posted by Unclediezel View Post
Probably beyond the DIY scope but I'll try anyway.

Im an auto mechanic of 20+ years and decided to pack up the tools, in favor of moving to the companys building maintenance department. No liscensing requirements, I'll be under a Supervisor at all times. Passed the written and hands on tests, But will completely admit that motors and 3 phase are not a Highlight of my resume.

What resources Would you guys recommend???? I guess for safety reasons, "INTRODUCTORY" 3 phase info is slim on the net...
I have got a lot of help from http://www.practicalmachinist.com/vb/index.php

dsk

Old 12-04-07, 07:20 AM